Back
Our holistic solution

ImpactSite

E
Back
Our hub for sustainable growth

Solartainer

M
Back
Our mobile cold store for sustainable agriculture

Cooltainer

P
Back
Changing our customers lives

ImpactStories

O
Back
How we measure impact scientifically

ImpactFacts

W

ImpactFacts – Scientific Impact measurement

We want to measure and gain an understanding of the local impact that we are having with our holistic approach through research collaborations and data analyses. The resulting knowledge enables us to uphold the high standards we set for ourselves as social entrepreneurs, by monitoring and reflecting on our success on a daily basis.

Field research: Interview with Djan Bagayogo

Our impact to date:

image

24.975

People supplied with electricity

image

2.080

max. tons of CO2 saved

image

419

small businesses empowered to increase productivity

Celebrated access to electricity with 100,000+ people

Scientifically proven by excellent partners.

By collaborating with partners such as the Chair of Corporate Sustainability at the TUM School of Management at the Technical University of Munich, we investigate the impact of Africa GreenTec’s activities especially on micro enterprises in rural areas, using qualitative and quantitative field studies.

Play Video

Our ImpactModel.

Electricity has direct and indirect, short- and long-term effects through numerous reciprocal interactions. Our ImpactModel illustrates the effects that we have identified in the course of our field research and that we continue to examine. It ultimately demonstrates why we do what we do: electricity is the foundation and prerequisite for real sustainable development.

ImpactModel

Our product portfolio is based on the stable access to electricity, which we generate reliably and CO2-neutrally using our Solartainers. We also supply every household with energy-efficient LED lights and organize educational events on the efficient use of electricity. Supplying people with electricity was and is the core of our vision and our daily work. The benefits of electricity contribute directly and indirectly to reaching the Sustainable Development Goals set by the UN by 2030.

Our Solartainer, coupled with our comprehensive services, access to energy-efficient tools and appliances as well as our mini-grid, provides access to high-performing and productivity-enhancing electricity – in contrast to other approaches such as Solar Home and Pico Solar Systems. Small business owners can instantly boost their productivity, leading to the creation of jobs and the rise in income levels. We consider entrepreneurship in the village to be of particular importance in driving socio-economic development forward, as it creates new prospects and opportunities for commercial businesses and ultimately for the entire community.

Our electricity is produced CO2-neutrally. Each Solartainer cuts CO2 emissions by up to 70 tons every year when compared to conventional diesel generators. In addition, we create ways to deal with the effects of climate change: we provide electricity for productive and income generating activities, as well as technological innovations in water supply and refrigeration for the agricultural sector, thus promoting independence in the face of rising temperatures and water shortages.

Our electricity powers schools and improves learning conditions. Light – in the home and on the street – allows children to study in the evenings. Apart from that, productivity gains in household activities lead to considerable time savings for the whole family (e.g. when collecting wood or running errands). This time can in turn be used for studying. Education – not only for children, but also for small businesses and women – promotes numerous other SDGs and is therefore included in our portfolio of community services along with the provision of technical hardware. Apart from that, electricity provides access to global information through the access to internet, radio and television, thus enabling the dissemination of knowledge.

Water is a critical issue in the Global South – particularly in regions bordering the Sahara desert where we operate many of our ImpactSites. Electricity allows for the operation of water treatment systems, which we supply and operate through the Solartainer. Enhancing the quality of drinking water has numerous positive effects, especially in regards to health. In addition, electricity enables the operation of irrigation pumps for agriculture. In times of increasing water shortages and the slow shifting of the seasonal cycles, this technology has proven to be essential for farmers.

Our electricity drives increases in productivity along the entire food chain. Particularly noteworthy are refrigerators or cold stores, such as our self-sufficient Cooltainer, which prevent valuable food from spoiling. Every year, about 40% of the fruit and vegetable harvest in sub-Saharan Africa goes to waste due to the lack of adequate refrigeration systems. The situation is similar for fish, meat and dairy products. Cold chains not only preserve the food supply for the population, but also provide opportunities for farmers to increase yields.

We understand poverty primarily as a lack of opportunities and self-determination. Our goal is to use electricity to provide exactly that for the local communities. We observe that the productive use of electricity by small businesses has a particularly positive impact on socio-economic development in the village (SDG 8) by creating new opportunities and increasing income through employment. In addition, solar power provides affordable access to electricity and leads to cost savings in many areas of daily and business life.

Our electricity increases security and reduces crime in the local communities. A key factor here is light – both in households and through street lighting. Moreover, communities are becoming more sustainable in the truest sense of the word – by providing new opportunities along with other developments that electricity brings about in the village – as the root causes for migration and flight are being eliminated. New income opportunities (SDG 8), education (SDG 4), water treatment (SDG 6) and cold chains (SDG 2) enable local communities to better deal with and adapt to the consequences of climate change. Electricity thus enables our customers to create safe, inclusive, sustainable and resilient communities.

Our electricity enables many women to save significant amounts of time in their day-to-day lives and in turn to invest it more effectively in their own education, family or business. We empower women, especially in the workplace (SDG 8) and through education (SDG 4), to become more independent and to live more self-determined lives by becoming self-employed. In order to strengthen women in the village, we implement Women’s Empowerment Programs together with our experienced partners.

By replacing diesel generators, we measurably reduce air pollution from particulate matter and nitrogen oxides – inside and outside our customers’ homes. This reduces the risk of diseases such as strokes, heart attacks, lung cancer and chronic and acute respiratory diseases, including asthma and various allergies. The increase in food supply (SDG 2) and the availability of drinking water (SDG 6) further contribute to the improvement of physiological health. Moreover, hospital wards are supplied with electricity, which enables the use of modern equipment and the cooling of pharmaceutical supplies. We also observe and measure how the creation of new opportunities through electricity – especially through entrepreneurship (SDG 8) – promotes the individual experience of freedom, self-determination, independence and happiness, thus strengthening psychological health.

We firmly believe that creating opportunities through basic infrastructure tackles the root causes of some of the greatest challenges in the Global South, rather than just addressing the symptoms. We perceive electricity to be an effective means of combating the root causes of migration and flight, and of promoting inclusive societies and peaceful communities. We have heard numerous stories of customers who have returned to their village because of electricity and the new prospects they have gained for their future, or of customers who have decided against leaving despite advanced plans to do so. A stable income for feeding their families can ease tensions between ethnic groups and in some cases even prevent them from joining terrorist groups.

Ultimately, we work for self-determination, justice and peace. WE DO.

image

Nachhaltigkeit entlang der Wertschöpfungskette.

Die Nachhaltigkeitsberatung imug bestätigt uns die Nachhaltigkeit auf ganzer Linie mit dem Rating “VERY GOOD” für das Projekt “50 Solartainer für Mali”.

image

Auf ganzer Linie umweltbewusst.

Nachhaltigkeit nicht nur im Produkt, sondern auch in den Prozessen. Bescheinigt durch ISO 9001 (Qualitätsmanagement) und 14001 (Umweltmanagement).

WE DO. THANKS TO YOU.

We empower people to achieve more self-determination and growth through sustainable energy solutions.

Back
Africa GreenTec - Joins us!

ImpactInvest

E
Back
Stories about people, impact and purpose

ImpactNews

R

Africa GreenTec is growing with you! We empower people to achieve more self-determination and growth through sustainable energy solutions. Join us!

About Crowdinvesting

Zurück
Unsere ganzheitliche Lösung

ImpactSite

E
Zurück
Unser Hub für nachhaltiges Wachstum

Solartainer

M
Zurück
Unser mobiles Kühlhaus für nachhaltige Landwirtschaft

Cooltainer

P
Zurück
Wie sich das Leben unserer Kunden verändert

ImpactStories

O
Zurück
Wie wir Impact durch Wissenschaft messen

ImpactFacts

W

ImpactFacts – wie wir Impact durch Wissenschaft messen.

Mit Forschunkskooperationen und Datenanalysen wollen wir die lokale Wirkung unseres ganzheitlichen Ansatzes verstehen und messen. Dies ermöglicht es uns, dem hohen Anspruch, den wir an unsere Arbeit als Sozialunternehmer stellen, gerecht zu werden und unseren Erfolg täglich zu hinterfragen.

Feldforschung: Interview mit Djan Bagayogo

Unser bis heute messbarer Impact.

image

24.975

Menschen mit
Strom versorgt

image

2.080

max. Tonnen CO2 eingespart

image

419

Kleinunternehmen zu Produktivitätssteigerungen befähigt

Mit 100.000+ Menschen Strom gefeiert

Wissenschaftlich geprüft durch exzellente Partner.

Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern, wie bspw. dem Chair of Corporate Sustainability an der TUM School of Management der TU München, erforschen wir anhand qualitativer und quantitativer Feldstudien die Wirkung der Arbeit von Africa GreenTec, insbesondere auf das Kleinunternehmertum in ländlichen Gebieten.

Video abspielen

Unser ImpactModel.

Über vielfache Wechselwirkungen hat Strom direkte und indirekte, kurz- und langfristige Wirkungen. Unser ImpactModel zeigt jene Wirkungen, die wir im Rahmen unserer Feldforschung identifiziert haben und fortlaufend untersuchen. Dadurch zeigt das ImpactModel auch warum wir tun, was wir tun: Strom ist der Anfang von und Voraussetzung für nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Unser Produktportfolio basiert auf dem stabilen Zugang zu Elektrizität, die wir mit unseren Solartainer CO2-neutral und zuverlässig produzieren. Daneben liefern wir jedem Haushalt energieeffiziente LEDs zur Beleuchtung und bieten Informationsveranstaltungen zur effizienten Stromnutzung an. Menschen mit Strom zu versorgen war und ist Kern unserer Vision und täglichen Arbeit. Die Effekte von Strom tragen direkt und indirekt zur Erreichung der Sustainable Development Goals bei, die sich die UN bis 2030 gesetzt hat.

Unser Solartainer, die umfangreichen Dienstleistungen und Zugänge zu energieeffizienten Geräten, eingebunden in einen mini grid-basierten Ansatz, ermöglichen Zugang zu hoher Leistung und somit produktive Stromnutzung – im Gegensatz zu anderen Ansätzen wie Solar-Home- und Pico-Solar-Systemen. Kleinunternehmer können ihre Produktivität schlagartig erhöhen, Arbeitsplätze schaffen und Einkommenslevel steigern. Das Unternehmertum im Dorf hat daher besondere Bedeutung für uns, um die sozio-ökonomische Entwicklung voranzutreiben. So entstehen neue Perspektiven und Möglichkeiten für Gewerbebetriebe und über Sekundäreffekte für die ganze Community.

Unser Strom wird CO2-neutral produziert. Jeder Solartainer spart gegenüber üblichen Dieselgeneratoren bis zu 70 Tonnen CO2 pro Jahr ein. Darüber hinaus schaffen wir Möglichkeiten, um mit den Folgen des Klimawandels umzugehen: Strom für produktive Anwendungen und Einkommensgenerierung sowie Technologielösungen im Bereich Wasser und Kühlung für die Agrarwirtschaft für mehr Unabhängigkeit in Zeiten von steigenden Temperaturen und Wassermangel.

Unser Strom versorgt Schulen und verbessert die Lernbedingungen. Licht – im Zuhause und auf der Straße – ermöglicht es Kindern, in den Abendstunden zu lernen. Daneben gibt es zahlreiche Effekte, bei denen durch Produktivitätsgewinne im familiären Betrieb enorme Zeitersparnisse für die ganze Familie zu beobachten sind (bspw. Holz sammeln oder Besorgungen machen). Diese Zeit kann wiederum zum Lernen genutzt werden. Bildung – nicht nur der Kinder, sondern auch der Kleinunternehmer und Frauen – fördert zahlreiche weitere SDGs und ist daher neben der technischen Hardware Teil unseres Service-Angebots für die Community. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht Strom via Internet, Radio und Television den Zugang zu globalen Informationen und somit ebenfalls Wissensvermittlung.

Wasser ist ein kritisches Thema im globalen Süden – gerade an der Grenze zur Sahara, wo wir viele ImpactSites betreiben. Strom ermöglicht den Betrieb von Wasseraufbereitungsanlagen, die wir durch den Solartainer liefern und betreiben können. Die Steigerung der Trinkwasserqualität hat zahlreiche positive Effekte, insbesondere für die Gesundheit. Daneben ermöglicht Strom den Betrieb von Wasserpumpen in der Agrarwirtschaft. Durch zunehmenden Wassermangel und langsames Verschieben der Saisonalitäten ist diese Technologie essentiell für Landwirte.

Unser Strom ermöglicht Produktivitätssteigerungen entlang der gesamten Nahrungsmittelkette. Besonders hervorzuheben sind Kühlschränke oder gar Kühlhäuser, wie unser autarker Cooltainer, die verhindern, dass Lebensmittel verderben. Etwa 40% der Gemüse- und Obsternte verdirbt ohne entsprechende Kühlsysteme jährlich in Subsahara-Afrika. Bei Fisch, Fleisch und Milchprodukten sieht es ähnlich aus. Kühlketten ermöglichen nicht nur den Erhalt von Lebensmitteln zur Versorgung der Bevölkerung, sondern auch Möglichkeiten zur Ertragssteigerung der Landwirte.

Wir definieren Armut primär als das Fehlen von Chancen und Selbstbestimmung. Durch Strom wollen wir genau das den Menschen vor Ort ermöglichen. Wir beobachten, dass insbesondere produktive Stromnutzung im Rahmen von Kleinunternehmertum die sozioökonomische Entwicklung im Dorf positiv beeinflusst (SDG 8) und durch Jobs neue Chancen geschaffen und Einkommen erhöht werden. Daneben ermöglicht Solarstrom günstigen Zugang zu Elektrizität und an vielen Stellen des alltäglichen und geschäftlichen Lebens Kosteneinsparungen.

Unser Strom erhöht die Sicherheit und senkt die Kriminalität in den Communities. Ein wesentlicher Faktor hierfür ist Licht – sowohl in den Haushalten als auch durch Straßenbeleuchtung. Daneben sehen wir deutlich, wie gerade durch das Schaffen von neuen Möglichkeiten, aber auch durch andere Entwicklungen, die Strom im Dorf bewirkt, die Communities im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes nachhaltig sind, da Fluchtmotivationen gesenkt werden. Durch neue Einkommensmöglichkeiten (SDG 8), Bildung (SDG 4), Wasseraufbereitung (SDG 6) und Kühlketten (SDG 2) werden die Menschen vor Ort befähigt, besser mit den Folgen des Klimawandels umzugehen und sich anzupassen. Strom ermöglicht unseren Kunden somit sichere, inklusive, nachhaltige und resistente Communities zu gestalten.

Unser Strom ermöglicht vielen Frauen, signifikant Zeit im Alltag zu sparen und diese Zeit besser in ihre eigene Bildung, ihre Familie oder ihr Gewerbe zu investieren. Gerade im gewerblichen Kontext (SDG 8) und durch Bildung (SDG 4) befähigen wir Frauen, unabhängiger zu werden und durch ihre Selbstständigkeit selbstbestimmter zu leben. Um die Frauen im Dorf zu stärken, setzen wir gemeinsam mit erfahrenen Partnern Women Empowerment Programme um.

Durch das Substituieren von Dieselgeneratoren reduzieren wir messbar die Luftverschmutzung durch Feinstaub und Stickoxide – innerhalb und außerhalb der Häuser unserer Kunden. So wird das Risiko für Krankheiten wie Schlaganfall, Herzinfarkt, Lungenkrebs sowie chronischen und akuten Atemwegserkrankungen, einschließlich Asthma und verschiedenen Allergien, reduziert. Die Verbesserung der Ernährungssituation (SDG 2) und Trinkwasserverfügbarkeit (SDG 6) tragen weiter zur Verbesserung der physiologischen Gesundheit bei. Darüber hinaus werden Krankenstationen mit Strom versorgt, was den Einsatz von modernem Equipment und das Kühlen von Medikamenten ermöglicht. Außerdem beobachten und messen wir, wie das Schaffen von neuen Möglichkeiten durch Strom – gerade durch Unternehmertum (SDG 8) – das individuelle Erleben von Freiheit, Selbstbestimmung, Unabhängigkeit und Glücksempfinden fördert und somit die psychologische Gesundheit stärkt.

Wir sind überzeugt, dass das Schaffen von Möglichkeiten durch Basisinfrastrukturen die größten Herausforderungen im globalen Süden an der Wurzel packt anstatt nur die Symptome zu adressieren. Wir erleben Strom als effektives Mittel für Fluchtursachenbekämpfung, inklusive Gesellschaften und friedliches Zusammenleben. Wir hören zahlreiche Geschichten von Kunden, die aufgrund von Strom und einer neuen Zukunftsperspektive in ihr Dorf zurückgekehrt sind oder es trotz fortgeschrittener Planung nicht verlassen haben. Ein stabiles Einkommen zur Ernährung der Familie kann Spannungen zwischen Völkergruppen lösen und in Einzelfällen gar das Anschließen an Terrorgruppen verhindern.

Letztlich arbeiten wir für Selbstbestimmung, Gerechtigkeit und Frieden. WE DO.

image

Nachhaltigkeit entlang der Wertschöpfungskette.

Die Nachhaltigkeitsberatung imug bestätigt uns die Nachhaltigkeit auf ganzer Linie mit dem Rating “VERY GOOD” für das Projekt “50 Solartainer für Mali”.

image

Auf ganzer Linie umweltbewusst.

Nachhaltigkeit nicht nur im Produkt, sondern auch in den Prozessen. Bescheinigt durch ISO 9001 (Qualitätsmanagement) und 14001 (Umweltmanagement).

WE DO. THANKS TO YOU.

Wir befähigen Menschen durch nachhaltige Energielösungen zu mehr Selbstbestimmung und Wachstum.

Zurück
Africa GreenTec – Sei Dabei!

ImpactInvest

E
Zurück
Geschichten über Menschen, Impact und Sinn

ImpactBlog

R

Africa GreenTec wächst mit dir! Wir befähigen Menschen durch nachhaltige Energielösungen zu mehr Selbstbestimmung und Wachstum. Sei Dabei!

Zum Crowdinvesting